Blood Sciences

Service Provided

The Blood Sciences department incorporates the Haematology and Chemical Pathology laboratories. It is situated within the Department of Pathology on the first floor of Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.

It provides a comprehensive routine and emergency out-of-hours diagnostic Blood Sciences service. Which, together with its partner laboratory in Rotherham, takes specimens from the Barnsley and Rotherham hospitals and the local areas.

Chemical pathology clinical advice is available from the Barnsley Hospital Consultant leads with support provided by the appropriate Rotherham Hospital Consultant’s as required.

Haematology clinical advice is available as required by contacting the details provided below. Urgent, out-of-hours clinical advice is provided by one of the Haematology consultants who can be contacted via switchboard.

Technical enquiries should be directed towards the Biomedical Scientists of the department.

Please see below for contact details. For urgent samples see the protocol on the Urgent Requests page.

Medical Staff

 Dr Anne Straffen (Consultant Biochemist)

01226 43(2772)
Bleep 584
a.straffen@nhs.net

Dr Dominique Chan-Lam (Consultant Haematologist)

Bleep 401 or dchanlam@nhs.net

Dr Robert Cutting (Consultant Haematologist)

6140 or email: rcutting@nhs.net

Dr Youssef Sorour  (Consultant Haematologist)

 Contact via switchboard or email: y.sorour@nhs.net

Secretary to Dr Chan-Lam

01226 43(2810)
angela.crossland@nhs.net

Haematology secretary

01226 43(2765)

Dr Thyn (Haematology doctor)

Bleep 413
thynthyn@nhs.net

Haematology Registrar  Bleep 203
Haematology SHO         Bleep 204

Biomedical Science Senior Staff

 Susan Dean (Integrated Blood Sciences Manager)

01226 43(2061)
sdean@nhs.net

Neil Cuthbert (Deputy Blood Sciences Manager/Chemical Pathology lead)

01226 43(2061)
neil.cuthbert@nhs.net

Ellen Lees (Deputy Blood Sciences Manager/Haematology lead)

01226 43(2061)
ellen.lees@nhs.net

Emma Dawson (Senior BMS Chemical Pathology/POCT Lead)

01226 43(2733) or (2673)
emma.gaw@nhs.net

Dave Hey (Senior BMS Chemical Pathology)

01226 43(2733) or (2673)
davidhey@nhs.net

Kathryn Tate (Senior BMS Haematology)

01226 43(2862) or (2610)
k.tate@nhs.net

Emma Williams (Senior BMS Haematology)

01226 43(2862) or(2610)
emma.williams22@nhs.net

Laboratory Contact Details

Chemical Pathology   01226 43(2763)  Bleep 209
Haematology             01226 43(2862/2610)    Bleep 205
Pathology Reception 01226 43(2727)